close
close

Georgia governor signs hemp industry reform bill into law

Georgia Gov. Brian Kemp (R) has signed the state's hemp regulation proposal into law. The new law creates a licensing program for the cultivation, manufacture and retail of industrial hemp products and sets the minimum age for purchasing or possessing such products at 21.

The full story continues below.

Georgia Gov. Brian Kemp (R) signed one on Tuesday The invoice which restricts the possession and sale of hemp products to adults 21 years of age and older. The legislation also creates a licensing program for the cultivation of hemp, the manufacture of hemp products, and the retail sale of hemp.

The law sets cultivation royalties between $500 and $2,000 per year and requires bonds between $20,000 and $1 million, the bill states. Retail license fees are set by law at $250 per year, while wholesale license fees range from $500 to $10,000 per year and are set by the commissioner of the Georgia Department of Agriculture (GDA).

In a press release, Kemp said the bill “makes changes to the hemp regulatory framework” to give the GDA “greater oversight and enforcement powers, and adds labeling, packaging and marketing requirements to protect children from misleading and dangerous marketing.” “.

All hemp products manufactured and sold in the state must include a “full panel certificate of analysis.”

Earlier this month, Georgia Agriculture Commissioner Tyler Harper said described The bill provides “guardrails” for the state’s hemp industry.

Some parts of the law, including the retail licensing provisions, will come into force on July 1, while all other provisions will take effect on October 1.

Get daily news insights in your inbox. Subscribe to

Anna Harden

Learn More →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *